RSS Feed

Handwo

Posted on

With a little planning, Handwo can be a super weekend treat!

 A delightful savory snack that originates from Gujarat.

A great snack, delicious and nutritious

The memory of my first bite of Handwo at my friend’s place in Dehra Dun, still lingers on. It was my friend’s mom, who had prepared it and it sure was a novelty to my North Indian palate. Since then I always thought of this dish, but sort of never really tried to experiment.

Recently, I was visiting my kids and wanted to make something unusual and thought of Handwo during my baking fiascos/experiments.

I have followed the recipe from showmethecurry.com with very minor changes. Since I was out of Eno Fruit salt, so I tried a mixture of 1 tsp baking soda, 2 tbsp yogurt and 1tsp lemon juice as a substitute. Lo, and behold! It worked. I also avoided the sesame seeds as my grandson has allergies.

However, I must add that the website showmethecurry.com run by Hetal and Anuja is just fantastic. You can try their recipes with your eyes closed. You just can not go wrong with their recipes.

I was happy that the recipe turned out fine that meant no more shopping for frozen Handwo at the Indian store for my daughter-in-law!

Ingredients:

1 cup rice

¼ cup chana dal

¼ cup arhar

¼ cup moong

½ cup yogurt

2 tbsp green chillies/ginger paste

Salt to taste

½ tsp Ajwain

2 tbsp sesame

2 tsp sugar

2 tsp salt

½ tsp turmeric powder

1 tsp Eno fruit salt

1 ½ cup grated bottle gourd or mix 1 cup of grated bottle gourd with carrots. You can also add chopped methi leaves.

Handwo, mint chutney and a cuppa masala chai. What more you can ask for!

Tempering:

Oil

Mustard seeds

Curry leaves

Heeng

Red chillies whole and also ½ tsp of chilli powder

Method:

Soak rice and lentils overnight.

Drain and grind coarsely with yogurt.

Add in ajwain,turmeric powder.ginger-chillies paste,salt,sugar,curry leaves and red chillies and red chilly powder.

Let batter ferment overnight.

Add grated bottle gourd ( lauki) and mix well.

Pour the mixture into a ring mould, cake tin or a muffin pan.

Add heeng/mustard tempering on top.

Cover with an aluminium foil and bake at 180 degrees C ( 350 degrees F) for about 35 minutes.

Remove foil and broil for about 7 to 8 minutes, until golden.

Let rest in the pan for about 5 minutes.

Serve hot with green (mint-coriander) chutney.

You can check out the original source for the recipe here.

About spicerack

Full time granny, arts enthusiast, compulsive baker and a freelance writer! Practically a nomad, living out of my suitcase literally! Based in Kuwait, New Delhi, and San Diego!

Leave a Reply

