RSS Feed

Who Stole the Crackle Cookie from the Cookie Jar?

Who Stole the Crackle Cookie from the Cookie Jar?

P stole the cookies from the cookie jar. Who me? Yes, you! Not me !

When my daughter P was a preschooler…she would often sing this! Things haven’t changed even after two decades. Of course, I have two more voices of A and M, my adorable grandchildren who join this chorus.

photo-33

A voracious reader, P would often take out my cookbooks and glance through, of course that was only after Mr. Roald Dahl was put to rest in a bookshelf. This was much before we had any clue about Roald Dahl’s luscious recipes for Stink Bugs Eggs, and Eatable Pillows, in his book of Revolting Recipes. Amazon was still a rain forest in those days.

While leafing through my collection of books, spotting any nice images, she’d plead me to make it! Many a times, she would even bring home some cookbooks for kids from her BSK library. The titles in those days somehow never read Cooking with Kids, rather they screamed…Cooking for kids, such conspiracy against mothers.

Soon, the countertops would be cleared; measuring cups and spoons would emerge out of drawers, P would don her apron and thus would begin a great adventure of two baking divas in our kitchen in Salwa, Kuwait.

photo-12 copy 3 photo-22 copy 2

I always thought she had the makings of a great chef, and I of a cookery editor in some fancy magazine. But little did I know that my dear daughter’s culinary talents would be relegated to watching the glamorous Nigella Lawson on television and mailing me links from her flipboard. To this day, I still remain a home cook and faithfully follow the links mailed in so lovingly by my daughter.

Believe me, I ain’t no celebrity cook, but I do like to kick up ,now and then, a storm in my coffee cup. Talking of coffee, here I have a great recipe for crackle cookies.

Before I go any further, I would like to say thanks to my daughter, without whose constant nagging, and assistance, I would not have achieved the feat of whipping up a sinfully sweet, delectable and good-looking chewy-gooey batch of cookies.

Crackle Cookies are special, because of the beautiful lacy exterior. This recipe is not my invention.

And yes, did I just hear that again…who stole my…..

Roll the chilled dough ball in confectioners' sugar

Roll the chilled dough ball in confectioners’ sugar

Bake  until cookies are set and slightly cracked on top

Bake until cookies are set and slightly cracked on top

½ cup sugar

1 egg, beaten lightly

2 tbsp. oil or unsalted butter, softened

1 ounce chocolate, unsweetened, melted in a double boiler and cooled (roughly 2 tbsp., or use ¼ cup cocoa powder)

½ tsp. vanilla

½ cup all-purpose flour

½ to ¾ tsp. baking powder

1/8 tsp. salt

4 table spoons confectioner’s sugar, and some extra for dusting hands

(Confectioner’s sugar is powdered sugar or icing sugar)

Time to enjoy your  delectable and  chewy chocolate crackle cookie

Time to enjoy your delectable and chewy chocolate crackle cookie

Directions

In a bowl, combine sugar, egg, oil, chocolate and vanilla. Whip until mixture is well blended.

Combine flour, baking powder, and salt in another bowl. Add creamed mixture and mix well.

Wrap the dough in a cling film and chill dough for at least 2 hours.

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F or 176 C.

Lightly grease 2 baking sheets.

Take about 4 tablespoons of confectioner’s sugar in a bowl.

With sugared hands, shape dough into small balls.

Roll each ball in confectioners’ sugar in bowl.

Bake about 10 to 12 minutes or just until cookies are set and slightly cracked on top. Transfer cookies on wire rack; cool completely. Store cookies between layers of parchment paper in airtight containers at room temperature.

Yields about 18 cookies.

Grab a glass of milk, and enjoy your cookies!

Variations: You can add ground ginger or cinnamon.

The recipe is based on the cookies recipe from Taste of Home. Click here to read.

About spicerack

Full time granny, arts enthusiast, compulsive baker and a freelance writer! Practically a nomad, living out of my suitcase literally! Based in Kuwait, New Delhi, and San Diego!

Leave a Reply

